Exploratory mission to FOODEX JAPAN

March 9 - 13, 2020

Tokyo, Japan

- EXCEPTIONALLY MISSION CANCELED - 

« Back to list


**Please note that this activity is open to all Quebec's agri-food companies and not solely to members of the Agri-Food Export Group.

 

The Export Group is pleased to hold a commercial mission in Japan, on the sidelines of the FOODEX show, the largest food and beverage trade show in Pacific Asia.  With more than 3,300 exhibitors and over 85,000 visitors in 2019, FOODEX represents an exceptional opportunity to discover Japanese trends and make some contact with importers/distributors.

 

The purpose of the mission

To explore the Japanese market, discover trends and ways of doing business and, of course, making contacts.

Among the scheduled activies :

  • Presentation on the Japanese market at the Québec General Delegation in Tokyo, presented by Mr. Akira Kitagawa, Commercial Attaché
  • Visit of different retail stores with Mr. Kitagawa to see consumer trends as well as taste preferences and formats.
  • Visit of the FOODEX show
    • In addition, the Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food of Quebec will have a booth at FOODEX to promote Quebec products and make contacts in this market to pass on to exporters. Mission participants will be invited to provide some samples that will be presented at the Quebec booth.

 

The Nippon Market in number

With a population of 127 million and merchandise imports of over Can$954 billion, Japan is the world's third-largest economy in 2018 with a GDP of US$4.9 trillion (or Can$6.5 trillion) after the United States and China. Japan is the fourth-largest importer of agri-food and seafood products in the world (Can$96.7 billion), and is Canada's third-largest market for agri-food and seafood. 

In 2018, 4,6 billion CAN$ of exports went to the country, making Japan one of Canada's most important economic and commercial partners. With the coming into force of the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP), Canadian exporters will benefit from reduced or eliminated tariffs on many agriculture and agri-food products into the Japanese market.

Japan is a trendsetter in many areas and can be a gateway to other markets in Asia. Japanese consumers are renowned for placing enormous importance on consuming food that is safe and of high quality, and they perceive Canada as a country that produces food with these characteristics. The Japanese also put a high value on long-term business relationships, which need to be built and understood, given that there are major cultural differences between North America and Japan when it comes to doing business[1].

Quebec products have been exported to Japan for more than 40 years. Pork, soy, maple syrup, seafood, berries, etc. found takers in Japan thanks to the excellence of their quality and traceability.

For more information about the Nippon market, please refer to the following sources:

 

Do I qualify for this mission?

The mission is for Quebec companies wishing to explore Japan in order to start exporting their goods to this market. It is important to note that the Japanese market is one of the most difficult in the world and is no margin for errors. To find out if the mission is for you, make sure you meet the following criteria:

  1. Have a website and business cards in English

  2. Have export experience outside Canada

  3. Ready to invest money and time to visit the Japanese market for the next two years

 

exceptionally mission canceled


Financial assistance for exhibitors

  • Reimbursement of one lump sum of $2 350 per company. To benefit from the lump sum, the company must provide a proof of travel and accommodation (if there is no accommodation, the lump sum cannot be granted)
    • You will be entitled to an extra $500 if your company is located in one of the following regions:  Gaspésie-Îles-de-la-Madeleine, Côte-Nord, Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean, Bas-Saint-Laurent, Abitibi-Témiscamingue and Nord-du-Québec;

Limit subscription date :

February 21, 2020The registration deadline is exceeded

Minimum enrollments for the activity to take place : 5

Options
  • Participation fees (650,00 $) Full

Registration is no longer available

View cancellation policy

Coordinator / contact

Hicham El Ghissassi

HichamElghissassi@groupexport.ca

T 450-649-6266 | 1-800-563-9767 ext: 206


Partners

Mission exploratoire au FOODEX JAPAN

9 - 13 mars 2020

Tokyo, Japon

« Retour à la liste


**Veuillez noter que cette activité est ouverte à toutes les entreprises agroalimentaires québécoises et non uniquement aux membres du Groupe Export agroalimentaire.

 

Le Groupe Export est heureux de vous proposer une mission commerciale au Japon, dans le cadre du salon FOODEX, le plus important salon commercial d’aliments et boissons d’Asie-Pacifique. Avec plus de 3 300 exposants et plus de 85 000 visiteurs en 2019, le FOODEX est une occasion exceptionnelle de découvrir les tendances du marché japonais et de faire des contacts avec des importateurs/distributeurs.

 

L'objectif de la mission

Explorer le marché japonais, découvrir les tendances et les façons de faire des affaires et, bien sûr, se faire de nouveaux contacts.

Parmi les activités de la mission :

  • Présentation sur le marché japonais à la Délégation générale du Québec à Tokyo par M. Akira Kitagawa, attaché commercial
  • Visites de magasins de détail avec M. Kitagawa afin de comprendre les tendances de consommation et les préférences de saveurs et de formats
  • Visite du salon FOODEX

 

Le marché nippon en quelques chiffres

Avec une population de 127 millions d'habitants et des importations de marchandises se chiffrant à plus de 954 milliards $CAN, le Japon était la troisième économie du monde en 2018 avec un PIB de 4,9 billions $US (ou 6,5 billions $CAN), devancé seulement par les États-Unis et la Chine. Le Japon est le quatrième importateur mondial de produits agroalimentaires et de produits de la mer (96,7 milliards $CAN) et on est le troisième plus grand marché pour le Canada.

En 2018, les exportations de produits canadiens au Japon ont totalisé 4,6 milliards $CAN, faisant de ce pays un des plus importants partenaires économiques et commerciaux du Canada. Avec l'entrée en vigueur de l'Accord de partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste (PTPGP), les exportateurs canadiens profitent d'une réduction, voire d'une élimination, des tarifs douaniers sur de nombreux produits agricoles et agroalimentaires sur le marché japonais.

Le Japon est à l'avant-garde dans de nombreux domaines et peut être une porte d'entrée vers d'autres marchés en Asie. Tout le monde sait que les consommateurs japonais accordent une grande importance à la consommation d'aliments sains et de qualité, et ils perçoivent le Canada comme un producteur d'aliments qui répond à leurs éxigences. Les Japonais accordent également une grande importance aux relations d'affaires à long terme; il faut s'adapter à la culture japonaise pour réussir en affaire au Japon, étant donné qu'il existe de grandes différences culturelles entre l'Amérique du Nord et le Japon lorsqu'il s'agit de faire des affaires[1].

Les produits québécois sont exportés au Japon depuis plus de 40 ans. Le porc, le soya, le sirop d’érable, les produits marins, les petits fruits, etc. ont trouvé preneurs au Japon grâce à l’excellence de leur qualité et de leur traçabilité.

Pour davantage d’information sur le marché japonais, veuillez consulter les références suivantes :

 

Est-ce que je me qualifie pour cette mission?

La mission s’adresse aux entreprises du Québec qui désirent explorer le Japon afin de commencer à exporter des produits vers ce marché. Il est important de noter que le marché japonais est un des plus difficiles du monde et sur lequel on n’a pas droit à l’erreur. Pour savoir si la mission s’adresse à vous, assurez-vous de répondre aux critères suivants :

  1. Avoir un site Internet et des cartes d’affaires en anglais

  2. Avoir de l’expérience en exportation hors Canada

  3. Être prêt à investir de l’argent et du temps pour visiter le marché nippon pour les deux prochaines années

 


Aide financière pour participants

  • Remboursement d'un seul forfaitaire déplacement de 2 350$ par entreprise. Pour bénéficier du forfaitaire déplacement, l’entreprise doit absolument fournir une preuve de déplacement et d’hébergement (s’il n’y a pas d’hébergement, le forfaitaire ne pourra pas être octroyé).
    • Un supplément de 500$ vous sera accordé si votre entreprise se situe dans une de ces régions : Gaspésie-Iles-de-la-Madeleine, Côte-Nord, Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean, Bas-Saint-Laurent, Abitibi-Témiscamingue ou Nord-du-Québec;

Date limite d'inscription :

21 Février 2020

Nombre minimum d'inscriptions pour que l'activité ait lieu : 5

Options
  • Frais de participation (650,00 $)

Coordonnateur / contact

Hicham El Ghissassi

HichamElghissassi@groupexport.ca

T 450-649-6266 | 1-800-563-9767 ext: 206


Partenaires